Eau de Toilet

Amor Amor by Cacharel is my scent.

“The atmosphere is electric as your glances meet. Amor Amor is the trigger: do you dare unleash passion? Sensual vanilla and jasmin mingle with sparkling blackcurrant; let the scent wrap around you both. Instant attraction, instant desire, instant Amor.”

… that description makes it sound like I will either become a crazed sex panther or a fruit-filled Christmas pudding.

All of the other bottles- and the fragrances they contain, fragrances that I once flirted with in the hopes of finding my match- sit despondently in my cupboard awaiting the day I feel like wearing them.

Kenzo is too spicy unless I’m wearing weird clothes and I need a boost of confidence.

Fiorucci is too sickly sweet, unless I’m wearing virginal white or softer tones.

Givenchy is good for night and smoky eyes.

Daisy is for sunny days.

But Amor Amor is for always. That is, until I used it all up!

 

60% of the time it works... every time.

 

Dad bought me some back from the airport so now I’m back to my staple perfume that seems to mix with my skin and linger subtly all day.

This is what I image the perfume smelt like when Grenouille is in the perfume shop with Baldini and mixes up his first perfume in Perfume: The Story of a Murderer. In the film they portray it kind of cheesily, with Dustin Hoffman surrounded by imaginary flowers.

"Why is this perfume smoking? And why do I suddenly have the munchies?"

Much better described with words.

“Odors have a power of persuasion stronger than that of words, appearances, emotions, or will. The persuasive power of an odor cannot be fended off, it enters into us like breath into our lungs, it fills us up, imbues us totally. There is no remedy for it.”

Patrick Suskind (Perfume: The Story of a Murderer)

That would have to be the first film they recreated when they figure out the technology for Smell-O-Vision!

Leave a Reply

