COCK…tails

Made you look!

Went to 1806 last night, then New Gold Mountain, then Madame Brussels for some delicious COCKtails.

Sorry, I just enjoy saying that.

I love in Melbourne how the coolest places are always tucked away in obscure places, waiting for you to find them. When you do, you bask in the glowing light reflected from the thick frame glasses that surround you and drink ridiculously expensive drinks, one of which tastes how Butterbeer tastes in my imagination. (New Gold’s no. 12. Do it.)

It was like sitting inside a pink anemone. Or maybe a brain.

Source

4 responses to “COCK…tails

  1. butterbeer! with ginger and lime on the side? (sorry, massive hp nerd…) i’m so there!
    im also noticing a trend with bar pricing- the more obscure the bar, the more expensive the cocktail jugs tend to be. (as obscurity levels rise, menus also tend to get more and more flooded with cocktail jugs,) but eh, it’s melbourne. we’re all so indie money to us is just postmodern propaganda… or something…

    • That’s true Mon, this place doesn’t have menus but ‘tailors a cocktail according to your tastes for an individual experience’ but i had on good authority that the no. 12 was awesome and it tasted like gingery butterbeer with lemon slices in it so quite close! I was happy to pay the $18 I paid for it because it was delish.
      But the thing is, I could pay like $14 for a mix drink at somewhere like Eve or Seven, or I could pay for a cocktail jug in an awesome place like Madame Brussels and NOT get bashed so yeah obscure bars win for me. Call me indie if you will!!

  2. Oooh, reading your blog makes me want to visit Melbourne again-it’s bittersweet cos I know it’ll be at least 6 months before I can!

    (I clicked over from meet me at mike’s)

Leave a Reply

